Media & news Te hunga pāpāho me ngā rongo kōrero

Back to all media & news

Tauranga by-election candidates and voting places

May 17, 2022 | Media release

The Electoral Commission has released the names of the candidates standing in the Tauranga by-election, along with a list of voting places for when voting starts.

12 candidates are seeking election as the Tauranga member of Parliament. Nominations for the by-election have closed and the following candidates have been confirmed.

Candidate name  Party
CAWOOD, Allan ONE Party
COKER, Christopher Aotearoa Legalise Cannabis Party
CORBETT, Tony Independent 
DICKSON, Gordon Independent 
GREY, Sue NZ Outdoors & Freedom Party
HOLLIS, Andrew New Nation Party
HOUGHTON, Helen New Conservative
LAMARE, Yvette Independent
LUXTON, Cameron ACT New Zealand
TINETTI, Jan Labour Party
UFFINDELL, Sam National Party
WAKEMAN, Peter Independent 

‘Now that nominations have closed, we can start to print voting papers for the by-election,’ says Graeme Astle, National Manager of Voting Services.

Advance voting in the Tauranga electorate will start on Saturday 4 June.

‘There will be 17 advance voting places in locations that are easy to access, where people will be able to enrol and vote,’ says Graeme Astle. ‘The times that advance voting places are open vary, so check before you go to vote.’

On election day, Saturday 18 June, 20 voting places will be open from 9am to 7pm.

Advance and election day voting place locations and opening hours will be listed on the website

Voters enrolled in the Tauranga electorate who are currently overseas, or who will be overseas on election day, can also vote. 

From 1 June, voters who are overseas will be able to download voting papers from and be able to return them by upload to the website.

More information on overseas voting can be found at

Back to top