Who reviews the electorate boundaries?

The Representation Commission is the independent body that reviews the boundaries and names of electorates.

Public officials and Government and Opposition appointees make up the Representation Commission. When considering the Māori electorate boundaries, the Commission also includes the chief executive of Te Puni Kōkiri and Māori representatives appointed by the Government and Opposition. Usually a current or retired judge chairs the Commission.

Read more about the members of the 2019/20 Representation Commission below.

Back to top