Media & news Te hunga pāpāho me ngā rongo kōrero

Back to all media & news

2007 Representation Commission final electorate boundaries - questions and answers

Sept 25, 2007 | Media release

1. How do the final electorate boundaries differ from the proposed electorate boundaries released in May 2007?

In summary:

  • In Auckland, the proposed Pakuranga, Howick, Manukau East, Hunua, Papakura and Manurewa electorate boundaries have been significantly redrawn. A new electorate of Botany, not Howick, has been created. The Pakuranga electorate remains largely unchanged.
  • The proposed Piako electorate has been renamed Waikato.
  • The proposed new electorate name Pare Hauraki-Pare Waikato is now named Hauraki-Waikato.
  • The proposed Rotorua electorate goes from a completely landlocked electorate to one that extends to the coast around Maketu
  • The Cook Ward of the Gisborne Distict Council has been retained in the East Coast electorate.
  • Waipawa has been put into the Wairarapa electorate
  • The electorates around Christchurch have become primarily urban. The Ilam electorate boundary has been changed.
  • The Banks Peninsula electorate has been revised and named Port Hills.
  • The Pleasant Point area has been kept with Timaru City in the Rangitata electorate.
  • Macrons have been added to 11 electorate names.

2. Why is the new electorate in Botany, not Howick?

Following the public objection process the Commission substantially redrew electorates in the Auckland area in response to feedback on the proposed electorates. The result of the redrawing was to establish the new electorate in Botany rather than Howick.

The Botany electorate centres on the Botany Community Board area.

3. When do the new boundaries come into force?

The next general election will be held under the new boundaries. Any by-election would be held under the existing boundaries.

4. How does an additional new electorate impact on the number of electorate and list MPs in Parliament?

There are currently 69 electorates – 62 general electorates and seven Māori electorates. For the next two general elections there will be 70 electorates – 63 general electorates and seven Māori electorates. While the number of electorate seats increases by one, the overall size of Parliament will not change. The number of list seats will reduce from 51 to 50.

5. Who is the 2007 Representation Commission?

The 2007 Representation Commission members are:

Chairperson: Judge Bernard Kendall

Ex-officio Members:

  • Chairperson Local Government Commission; Sue Piper
  • Chief Electoral Officer; Robert Peden
  • Deputy Government Statistician; Cathryn Ashley-Jones
  • Surveyor General; Don Grant
  • Government representative; Hon David Caygill
  • Opposition representative; Hon Roger Sowry

When considering Māori electorate boundaries, the Commission included the following additional members:

  • Ex-officio Member: Chief Executive of Te Puni Kōkiri; Leith Comer
  • Government Māori representative; Whetu Wereta
  • Opposition Māori representative; John McEnteer

6. When does the Commission review boundaries again?

The electorate boundaries are scheduled to be reviewed again in 2012.


Back to top