Who reviews electorate boundaries?

The Representation Commission is the independent body that reviews the boundaries and names of electorates.

Public officials and government and opposition appointees make up the Representation Commission. Usually a current or retired judge chairs the Commission.

The members of the Representation Commission for the 2019/20 boundary review were:

  • Chair – Judge Craig Thompson
  • Surveyor-General – Anselm Haanen
  • Deputy Government Statistician – Carol Slappendel
  • Chief Electoral Officer – Alicia Wright
  • Local Government Commission Chair – Brendan Duffy
  • Government representative – Hon Rick Barker
  • Opposition representative – Hon Roger Sowry

When considering the Māori electorate boundaries, the Commission also included:

  • Deputy Chief Executive, Regional Partnerships for Te Puni Kōkiri – Di Grennell
  • Government Māori representative – Moana Mackey
  • Opposition Māori representative – Dan Te Kanawa 
Back to top