Media & news Te hunga pāpāho me ngā rongo kōrero

Back to all media & news

Final electorate boundaries - summary of major features

Oct 1, 2007 | News

One new additional electorate

An additional electorate is being created in the south of Auckland named Botany. The Botany electorate comprises much of the Botany Community Board areas including the proposed new town centre of Flat Bush. It replaces parts of the former Clevedon and Manukau East electorates and includes the Cockle Bay area from the Pakuranga electorate.

Nine electorates with new names

The electorates below replace the existing electorates of Clevedon, Port Waikato, Piako, Ohariu-Belmont, Banks Peninsula, Rakaia, Otago, Aoraki and Tainui.

  • Papakura – replaces parts of the Clevedon, Port Waikato and Manurewa electorates. The Papakura electorate is centred on the Papakura urban area and includes Kingseat and Clarks Beach to the west. To the north it includes the suburbs of Wattle Downs, Mahia Park, and the suburbs of Manurewa East and The Gardens to the east of the motorway.
  • Hunua – replaces parts of the Clevedon and the existing Port Waikato electorates including the towns of Clevedon, Maraetai, Tuakau, Pukekohe, Waiuku and up to Manukau Heads.
  • Waikato replaces parts of the Piako, Coromandel, Hamilton West and Taranaki King Country electorates. The Piako electorate disappears.
  • Ōhariu - replaces Ohariu-Belmont with the Belmont area shifted into the Rimutaka electorate.
  • Selwyn – replaces parts of the Waimakariri, Banks Peninsula and Rakaia electorates.
  • Port Hills is the new name for the revised Banks Peninsula electorate with most of the peninsula area itself transferred to Selwyn.
  • Rangitata – replaces parts of the Aoraki and Rakaia electorates. It includes Timaru City, Temuka, Orari and Ashburton up to the Rakaia River. Pleasant Point and its immediate surrounds are included in this electorate. The Rakaia electorate disappears.
  • Waitaki - replaces parts of the Otago and Aoraki electorates. The Waitaki electorate includes all of the Waitaki, Central Otago and Mackenzie Districts as well as the northern portion of Queenstown Lakes District around Wanaka and a portion of the Timaru District (excluding Timaru City) around Paeroa and Geraldine. The Aoraki and Otago electorates disappear.
  • Hauraki-Waikato – replaces the Tainui electorate and includes population from the Tāmaki Makaurau electorate from the southern part of Manurewa. The people from Ngati Maniapoto (formerly in the Tainui electorate) will be in the Te Tai Hauāuru electorate with the people of Ngati Raukawa.

Other changes

North Island electorates

  • Northland extends south to include Wellsford.
  • East Coast Bays loses Bayview and Witherford Heights to Helensville.
  • Rodney loses the Wellsford area to Northland.
  • Helensville receives Bayview and Witherford Heights and loses areas of Massey and an area south of Muriwai to the Waitakere electorate.
  • Mt Albert receives Pt Chevalier from Auckland Central.
  • Pakuranga stays very similar to the 2005 boundary (excluding Cockle Bay which is now in the new electorate of Botany).
  • Manukau East now includes Otahuhu and Otara.
  • Manurewa loses Manurewa East and Wattle Downs to Papakura.
  • Maungakiekie now includes Royal Oak, Onehunga, Panmure and Point England.
  • Coromandel now includes Te Aroha.
  • Taupō shifts north to include Cambridge.
  • Bay of Plenty includes the Kaimai Ward and loses the Maketu Ward.
  • Rotorua shifts north to the Bay of Plenty coast and includes the Maketu Ward of the Western Bay of Plenty District.
  • Taranaki-King Country now includes Raglan and Ohaupo. In the south it loses Opunake to Whanganui and Egmont Village to New Plymouth.
  • The Napier electorate shifts north to include all of the Wairoa District.
  • East Coast moves west to include the Bay of Plenty Plains up to the boundary between the Whakatane and Western Bay of Plenty Districts. It retains the Cook Ward of the Gisborne District.
  • Rangitīkei now includes Ohakune and Taumaranui.
  • Palmerston North is now a wholly urban electorate. It loses parts of the rural fringe to the Rangitīkei electorate.
  • The Whanganui electorate now includes the Wanganui and South Taranaki Districts.
  • Wairarapa extends north to include Waipawa and Waipukurau.

South Island electorates

  • West Coast-Tasman includes the northern area of Wakefield, up to but not including Brightwater.
  • Invercargill expands west to include Riverton, north to include Hedgehope and Glencoe and east to the Southland District boundary.
  • Clutha Southland expands to include Queenstown and Arrowtown.
  • Dunedin South includes Middlemarch up to the Dunedin City boundary.
  • Dunedin North includes Waikouaiti up to the Dunedin City boundary.
  • Wigram loses Sydenham and Beckenham to Port Hills and gains Addington and HoonHay.
  • Waimakariri loses parts of Papanui to the Christchurch Central electorate, and Bishopdale to the Ilam electorate and retains its community of interest around Oxford and Rangiora.

Māori electorates

Adjustments have been made to the boundaries of five Māori electorates.

  • Te Tai Hauāuru - the changes will see the people from Ngati Maniapoto from Tainui included in Te Tai Hauāuru with the people of Ngati Raukawa.
  • Te Tai Tonga - moves southwards to a line running generally east to west through the Hutt Valley south of Naenae.
  • Ikaroa-Rāwhiti - extends to the western hills of the Hutt Valley to include Belmont, Taita and Naenae.
  • Hauraki- Waikato replaces the Tainui electorate and includes population from the Tāmaki Makaurau electorate from the southern part of Manurewa. The people from Ngati Maniapoto (formerly in the Tainui electorate) will be in the Te Tai Hauāuru electorate with the people of Ngati Raukawa.
  • Tāmaki Makaurau - population from the southern part of Manurewa shifts to the new electorate of Hauraki-Waikato.

Eleven electorate names with macrons included

  • Te Atatū
  • Tāmaki
  • Māngere
  • Taupō
  • Rangitīkei
  • Ōtaki
  • Ōhariu
  • Kaikōura
  • Tāmaki Makaurau
  • Te Tai Hauāuru
  • Ikaroa-Rāwhiti

2007 Representation Commission process

331 Objections, including 57 objections to proposed names were received. Including:

  • 584 petitioners in relation to the Manurewa electorate
  • 538 petitioners relating to the proposed West Coast-Tasman electorate
  • 191 petitioners relating to the proposed Christchurch Central Electorate

114 counter objections were received. Including:

  • 560 petitioners relating to the proposed Waimakariri electorate
  • 81 individuals or organisations appeared at public hearings in Auckland, Hamilton, Gisborne, Wellington, Nelson, Christchurch and Timaru.


Back to top