Third Party handbook for the 2020 General Election

Key dates for third parties

This table shows the updated key dates you need to know as third party for the 17 October 2020 General Election.

Date What happens
Tuesday 18 August The regulated period starts
During the regulated period, your election and referendum advertisements count towards your expense limits
Sunday 13 September Writ day
Candidates and parties can start broadcasting election advertisements on TV and radio
Wednesday 30 September Overseas voting starts
Saturday 3 October Advance voting starts
You can’t campaign within 10 metres of an advance voting place
Friday 16 October The regulated period finishes
You must take down all campaign signs before midnight
Saturday 17 October Election day
Voters can vote between 9am and 7pm. You can’t campaign on election day
Friday 30 October Preliminary referendum results will be released (ordinary votes)
Friday 6 November We declare the official results for the general election and referendums
We aim to release the results by 2pm
Thursday 12 November If there are no judicial recounts, we return the writ showing elected electorate candidates and declare the list members of Parliament (MPs)
Wednesday 17 February 2021 The deadline for reporting your election and referendum expenses to us
Back to top